Gonzales city council to consider board appointees


The Gonzales City Council will have the opportunity to review applications for specific city boards and commissions and appoint or re-appoint members to said subgroups at its Dec. 12 meeting. There are several openings and expired terms across the city’s nine subgroups.

Per the city’s charter, the city council has the power to vote on appointing members of those subgroups. Board and commission members appointed now serve on a two-year term effective Oct. 1, 2019 and ending Sept. 30, 2021.

Two members of the Gonzales Golf Course Advisory Board, Erwin Ckodre and Floyd Rogers, have submitted resignation letters and two members, Doyle Allen and Jon Such, have submitted letters requesting reappointment. Rogers’ term was set to end Sept. 30, 2020 while Ckodre’s term expired Sept. 30, 2019. The board received two applications to fill the vacancies from Glenda Kessler and Bill Kessler. They recommended Glenda Kessler serve the full two-year term and Bill Kessler to fill Rogers’ un-expired term. One application from Bill Hyman has been received since the board made its recommendation.

Three current Gonzales Economic Development Corporation, Dewey Smith, Gerri Lawing and Dan Blakemore, are seeking reappointment to the board. Steve Sucher submitted a letter announcing his intention to not seek re-appointment following the expiration of his term on Sept. 30, 2019 leaving one vacancy on the board.

The board received three applications for the vacancy and voted 4-2 to recommend former Gonzales Tourism Director Clint Hille to the position. Since the recommendation, one original applicant, Rob Brown, withdrew this application and three others, Gilbert Perez, Jonathan Davis and Gonzales Mayor Connie Kacir, applied.

All four expired members of the Gonzales Library Board, Vicki Frenzel, Noell Ince, Martha Jo Whitt and Erwin Ckodre, are seeking reappointment. There have been no external applications for the positions.

There are two vacancies and six expired terms on the Main Street Advisory Board. Suzanne Zaitz, Carlos Camarillo, Karen Jacobs, Sherri Schellenberg and Debbie Toliver are all seeking reappointment. Rob Brown, whose term began July 2019 tendered his resignations effective Nov. 15, 2019. Applications have been received from Meena Patel, Gilbert Perez, D’Anna Robinson, Cheri Lane, Amy Gernosek and Andrea “Andi” Seger. 

There are three expired members and two vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission. The three expired members, Tim Gescheidle, Roland Martinez and Charles Patterson are all seeking reappointment. James Hamilton resigned from his position on the board and one other position has been vacant. Two applications from Jonathan Davis and Johnnie Edwards have been received.

All three expired members of the Gonzales Convention and Visitors Bureau, Holly Danz, Dawn O’Donnell and Barbara Crozier, are seeking reappointment. There is one vacancy on the board. Applications have been received by Meena Patel, Gilbert Perez, Amy Cenosek and Andrea “Andi” Seger.

Both expired members on the Zoning Board of Adjustment and Sign Control Board, Vicki Frenzel and Ray Lee Raley, are seeking reappointment. There are two vacant alternative positions on the board. One application from Johnnie Edwards has been received.

All expired three members on the J.B. Wells Parks Advisory Board, Kevin La Fleur, Sissy Mills and Allison Davis are seeking reappointment. One external application has been received from Liz Davis.

All three expired members on the Museum Advisory Board, John Tinsley, Sanda Mauldin and Brent Baker, are seeking reappointment. Outside applications have been received from Jean Peterek Burns and Lucianne Blakemore.

In addition to board and commission reappointments, city council also will consider an ordinance which would amend the city’s Code of Ordinances as it relates to boards and commissions. The ordinance would make it so all boards would be established by ordinance and establish guidelines for boards, commissions and committees to follow. The city council will also consider the establishment of an Airport Advisory Board.