Shiner St. Paul announces volleyball postseason awards


SHINER — The Shiner St. Paul Lady Cardinals were undefeated district champions this season in a year where they advanced to the state semifinals before losing to Austin Waldorf in four sets last week. Four Lady Cardinals were named to the all-district team while four others were named to the second team and others honorably mentioned.

Named to the first-team all-district are Delynn Pesek, Gracey Novosad, Christine Wagner and Grace Irvin.

Named to the second team are Cameron Pesek, Mallory Pokluda, Paige Brown and Hope Kapavik. Aspen Flach, Riley Johnson and Trinity Garza were honorably mentioned,

St. Paul’s deep playoff run also came with all-state honors as Delynn Pesek was named to the first-team TAPPS 2A All State team. Named to the second team were Gracey Novosad and Christine Wagner. Grace Irvin was honorably mentioned.

Academic All State team include Delynn Pesek, Gracey Novosad, Christine Wagner, Grace Irvin, Hope Kapavik and Mallory Pokluda.