Three to be sworn in at Smiley council meeting


Three newly elected candidates will swear in and become members of the Smiley city council May 15 at a special called meeting. Elisa Douglas and Linda Warzecha won reelection, while Diana Pena Moreno will take over H. Wayne South’s seat. South declined to run for reelection.

Council will also discuss “denying a rate increase requested by AEP Texas” and hear presentations from the city marshal, municipal court, fire department and Norma’s House.

Council meets at 6 p.m. at Smiley City Hall, U.S. Highway 87 West, Smiley, Texas 78159. Council meetings are always open to the public.