Early voting begins in May 24 primary runoff


Early voting began Monday, May 16, and will continue through Friday, May 20, at three locations in Gonzales County for the May 24 joint Democratic and Republican primary runoff election.

Voters can cast a ballot from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day this week at the Randle Rather Building, 427 Saint George, Ste. 100, Gonzales; at the Nixon City Building, 100 W. Third St., Nixon; or at Waelder City Hall, 300 Hwy. 90 W., Waelder.

Consolidated voting precincts open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 24, for election day include:

• Precincts 1, 14 & 15: Randle Rather Building, 427 St. George St., Gonzales.

• Precincts 2 & 11: Gonzales Master Gardeners, 623 N. Fair St., Gonzales.

• Precincts 3, 5, 7 & 8: City Building, 820 St. Joseph St., Gonzales.

• Precincts 4, 6, 10 & 13: City of Nixon Building, 302 E Central, Nixon.

• Precinct 9: Waelder Community Center, 311 Hwy 90 W, Waelder.

• Precinct 12: Riverside Community Center, 110 St. Lawrence St., Gonzales.


On the GOP ballot, there are three races where voters will choose who moves forward to the November general election:

Attorney General: George P. Bush squares off against incumbent Ken Paxton.

Land Commissioner: Tim Westley faces Dawn Buckingham (no incumbent).

Railroad Commissioner: Incumbent Wayne Christian is challenged by Sarah Stogner.


There are four races on the Democratic Party primary runoff ballot to determine nominees for November:

Lieutenant Governor: Michelle Beckley versus Mike Collier.

Attorney General: Rochelle Mercedes Garza faces Joe Jaworski

Comptroller of Public Accounts: Janet T. Dudding against Angel Luis Vega.

Land Commissioner: Jay Kleberg versus Sandragrace Martinez.