Early Voting starts today for June 1 District 2 City Council runoff election


Early voting started Thursday, May 20 in the runoff election between Johnny Hunt and Sherri Tumlinson Koepp. The winner will fill the Gonzales City Council District 2 seat being vacated by Tommy Schurig, who did not seek reelection.

Election Day is Tuesday, June 1 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Gonzales Municipal Building, 820 Saint Joseph St.

Early voting is being held at the same location, and will continue Friday, May 21, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Monday and Tuesday, May 24 and 25, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; and Wednesday and Thursday, and Friday, May 26, 27, and 28, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The runoff was required because none of the three candidates received 50%-plus-one of the votes in the election held May 1.

According to official results, Koepp had 62 votes, Hunt had 47 and James H. Lawrence had 25.

District 2 saw just 12.34% – 134 people – out of 1,089 eligible voters cast a ballot. Koepp missed winning the May 1 election outright by six votes.

The runoff election will be determined by a simple majority of votes.