Early voting under way in May 7 elections


Early voting began Monday, April 25, and will continue through Tuesday, May 3, for the Saturday, May 7, constitutional amendment and entities election.

Voting times, locations

Polls are open for early voting from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 25-29 and May 2-3 at three locations in Gonzales County:

• Randle Rather Building, 427 St. George St., Gonzales.

• City of Nixon Building, 302 E Central, Nixon.

  Waelder City Hall, 300 Hwy 90 W, Waelder.

On election day, Saturday, May 7, polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Precincts include the following:

• Precincts 1, 14 & 15: Randle Rather Building, 427 St. George St., Gonzales.

• Precincts 2 & 11: Gonzales Master Gardeners, 623 N. Fair St., Gonzales.

• Precincts 3, 5, 7 & 8: City Building, 820 St. Joseph St., Gonzales.

• Precincts 4, 6, 10 & 13: City of Nixon Building, 302 E Central, Nixon.

• Precinct 9: Waelder Community Center, 311 Hwy 90 W, Waelder.

• Precinct 12: Riverside Community Center, 110 St. Lawrence St., Gonzales.

Gonzales city, ISD
Gonzales residents will be voting for mayor between three candidates: S.H. “Steve” Sucher; Isaac Anzaldua; and Todd Bright. Residents in Gonzales ISD District 1 will also choose a trustee between challenger Elisa Molina and incumbent Gloria A. Torres. Justin Schwausch is unopposed in District 2.

Gonzales Healthcare Systems

The Gonzales Healthcare Systems (Gonzales Hospital District) election has six candidates running for five at-large positions. They include incumbent Gene Reed; David Malaer; incumbent Stephanie Kodack; incumbent Kerry Morgan; incumbent Sascha Kardosz; and incumbent Tim Markham.

Gonzales ESD 1 & 2

Gonzales ESD 1 is seeking the adoption of a local sales and use tax at a rate not to exceed three-eighths of a percent at any location in the district. Gonzales ESD 2 is seeking the adoption of a local sales and use tax at a rate not to exceed 1 1/8 percent at any location in the district.

Nixon city

Nixon voters will choose two aldermen from among three candidates. They include incumbent Mark A. Soto, incumbent Maggie Gaytan and Ellie Dominguez.

Smiley city

Smiley voters have a ballot chock full of choices in this election. First up is the mayoral race, which features challenger Lisa Dominguez Benavidez against incumbent Mayor Michael K. Mills.

Six people are running for two open spots on the Smiley City Council as Benavidez is running for mayor and Wayne Dauer did not seek re-election. Candidates are Lori Price, Silvia Garcia McKinney, Ellis Villasana, Michaela M. Mills, Melva Robinson Childress and Joshua Redus. Top two votegetters get elected.

Waelder city

While Mayor Roy R. Tovar is unopposed, there are three people running for two spots on the Waelder City Council. They are incumbent Robert “Kido” Tovar; Sam Ramirez; and incumbent Peggy Blackmon.

Waelder ISD

Four candidates are running for two at-large trustee positions on Waelder ISD Board of Trustees. They include incumbent Troy Dewayne Sullivan; Cathy Olmos Hernandez; Catrina Giovanna Hernandez; and incumbent Avery Williams.

The district is also holding a bond election for the issuance of $13.6 million in bonds for the “construction, acquisition and equipment of school buildings in the district, including district-wide renovations and the purchase of necessary sites for school buildings” which will result in a property tax increase.

State of Texas

There are two Constitutional Amendment propositions on the ballot for the state of Texas. Prop. 1 calls for an amendment authorizing the reduction of the amount of a limitation on the amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed for public school purposes on the residence homestead of a person who is elderly or disabled.”
Prop. 2 calls for an amendment increasing the amount of residence homestead exemption for ad valorem taxation for public school purposes from $25,000 to $40,000.