Here are Gonzales County's honorees on all-district football teams


Gonzales and Nixon-Smiley high schools combined to have seven first-team honorees on their respective all-district football teams.

For the Apaches, guard Ryan Gomez and tackle Coby Pruett were first-team offensive selections for 4A-2 District 13, while punter Jared Cook was first-team defense.

For the Mustangs, running backs Xavier Arias and Jesse Riojas were 1st-team offensive selections in 3A-2 District 15, while defensive honors went to defensive back Bradyn Martinez and Arias at linebacker.

Here are the list of honorees for both schools:

Apaches Football

4A-2 District 13 2020 All-District football team:

1st Team Offense: Ryan Gomez, guard; and Coby Pruett, tackle.

2nd Team Offense: Christian Almaguer, center; and Braden Barfield, wide receiver.

• Honorable Mention Offense: Brett Breitschopf, wide receiver; and Brett Jahns, guard.

• 1st Team Defense: Jared Cook, punter.

2nd Team Defense: Cesar Matamoros, inside linebacker; and Coby Pruett, defensive tackle.

• Honorable Mention Defense: Derrick Garza, outside linebacker; T.J. Riojas, cornerback; Rusell Thomas, defensive end.

Mustang Football

3A-2 District 15 2020 All-District football team:

1st Team Offense: Running backs Xavier Arias and Jesse Riojas.

• 2nd Team Offense: Quarterback Bradyn Martinez and lineman: Josiah Montoya

1st Team Defense: Defensive back Bradyn Martinez, linebacker Xavier Arias.

• 2nd Team Defense: Lineman Josiah Montoya and defensive back Issac Grant.

Honorable Mention: Wideout Issac Grant, offensive Lineman: Austin McMain, and offensive lineman Zac Perez.

• Academic All-District: Xavier Arias and Jeremy Van Gundy.