2020 filing window now open

Incumbents, challengers alike toss names into races


Saturday, Nov. 9 marked the opening of the filing window for the 2020 Democratic and Republican primary elections. In Texas, local, state and federal candidates of both parties have until 6 p.m. Dec. 9 to file their candidacy with the county or state party chair, as appropriate, to get their name on the primary ballot next March. 

Several incumbent candidates for Gonzales County seats have already applied for re-election: Matthew Atkinson, Sheriff; K.O. “Dell” Whiddon, County Commissioner Precinct 1; Kevin La Fleur, County Commissioner Precinct 3; Derek Johnson, Constable Precinct 3 and John Moreno, Constable Precinct 4 all filed with the Gonzales County Republican Party (GCRP) according to GCRP Executive Director Donald Page. Challengers Robert Ynclan, Sheriff; Daisy Scheske Freeman, County Commissioner Precinct 3 and Scott Rhodes, Constable Precinct 1 also all filed with the GCRP. Several attempts to reach out to the Gonzales County Democratic Party chair have gone unanswered, however Floyd Toliver said he has filed as a Democratic candidate in the sheriff race.

Incumbent District 17 State Rep. John Cyrier filed for re-election on Nov. 9 as a Republican. Cyrier’s district includes the counties of Gonzales, Karnes, Caldwell, Bastrop and Lee.

Republican Jacqueline Phillips Ott has filed for the 25th Judicial District seat while Republican Jessica Richard Crawford filed for reelection the 2nd 25th Judicial District seat. Judge William (Bill) Old III announced his re-election bid for the 25th Judicial District seat in October but has yet to officially file his candidacy for the primary. The 25th Judicial District includes the counties of Gonzales, Guadalupe, Lavaca and Colorado.

The two places up for election on the Texas 13th District Court of Appeals will have Democratic challengers with Migdalia Lopez running for place 4 and Nereida Lopez-Singleterry running for place 6. Place 4 is currently occupied by Jaime Tijerina and place 6 is held by Greg Perkes. Gov. Greg Abbott appointed both Tijerina and Perkes to the 13th District Court of Appeals in 2019. The 13th District Court of Appeals includes Gonzales County and covers southeastern coast of the state down to the U.S.-Mexico border.

Incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Michael Cloud filed for re-election. Cloud won Texas’ 27th Congressional District in 2018 following disgraced former Congressman Blake Farenthold’s resignation. According to Federal Election Commission filings, Shiner resident Michael Jon Lawrence filed a statement of candidacy for District 27, but as of press time, he is not featured on the Republican primary list.

Other local seats up in 2020 are county attorney and tax assessor-collector. The Inquirer will continue to update the list of candidates as they file.


Gonzales County Sheriff

Matthew Atkinson (R)

Robert Ynclan (R)

Floyd Toliver (D)

Gonzales County Commissioner Pct. 1

K.O. “Dell” Whiddon” (R)

Gonzales County Commissioner Pct. 3

Kevin La Fleur (R)

Daisy Scheske Freeman (R)

Constable Pct. 1

Scott Rhodes (R)

Constable Pct. 3

Derek Johnson (R)

Constable Pct. 4

John Moreno (R)

25th District Judge

Jacqueline Phillips Ott (R)

2nd 25th District Judge

Jessica Richard Crawford (R)

13th Court of Appeals, Place 4

Migdalia Lopez (D)

13th Court of Appeals, Place 6

Nereida Lopez-Singleterry (D)

State Representative District 17

John Cyrier (R)

State Senate District 18

Lois Kolkhorst (R)

U.S. Representative District 27

Michael Cloud (R)