State champ Cardinals earn postseason awards


SHINER — Multiple players on the TAPPS Div. IV football champion Shiner St. Paul Cardinals were honored with postseason awards from making it to the all-district lists to the prestigious all-state list.

Named to the all-state first team were offensive lineman Garrett Wauson, tight end Cole Brown and athlete Joseph Natal. Named to the second team were running back Noah Boedeker and wide receiver Dalton Jahn. Offensive lineman Luke Darilek was honorably mentioned.

On defense, Brown was named to the all-state first team as a defensive lineman. Named to the second team were Darilek, Jahn and linebacker Carson Reese. Punter Garrett Wauson and linebacker Natal were honorably mentioned.

The academic all-state team lists Joseph Natal, Patrick Green, Jared Pesek, Kellen Opela, Carson Reese and Luke Darilek as honorees.

Named to the first team all-district offense were Garrett Wauson, Luke Darilek, Noah Boedeker, Dalton Jahn, Joseph Natal and Cole Brown. On the second team were Weston Geiger, Kai Giese, Carson Reese, Jared Pesek and Zak Johnson. Ted Machacek, James Fikac, Matthew Malinovsky and Sam Benes were honorably mentioned.

On the first team all-district defense were Luke Darilek, Cole Brown, Carson Reese, Joseph Natal, Dalton Jahn, Zak Johnson and Garrett Wauson as punter. Named to the second team were Garrett Wauson as a defensive lineman, Patrick Green, Gerard Nuñez and Kellen Opela. Ted Machacek, Grant Barta, Weston Geiger, Noah Beodeker, Cade Davi and Kai Giese were honorably mentioned.

Shiner St. Paul finished the season 6-8 overall, 2-1 in district and won the TAPPS Div. IV state championship game 29-21 over Fort Worth Lake Country Christian.