Candidates filed for 2020 races


Candidates known to have filed for the 2020 primary election in or regionally involving Gonzales County as of Nov. 26. Candidates have until Dec. 9 at 6 p.m. to file with their respective party. “The Inquirer” will continue to update the list as we are alerted to their filing.

Gonzales County Sheriff

Matthew Atkinson (R)

Robert Ynclan (R)

Floyd Toliver (D)

Allen Taylor (R)

Gonzales County Attorney

Paul Watkins (R)

Gonzales County Tax Assessor-Collector

Crystal Cedillo (R)

Gonzales County Commissioner Pct. 1

K.O. “Dell” Whiddon (R)

Gonzales County Commissioner Pct. 3

Kevin La Fleur (R)

Daisy Scheske Freeman (R)

Gonzales County Constable Pct. 1

Scott Rhodes (R)

Johnnie Hall (R)

Gonzales County Constable Pct. 3

Derek Johnson (R)

Gonzales County Constable Pct. 4

John Moreno (R)

25th District Judge

Bill Old (R)

Jacqueline Phillips Ott (R)

2nd 25th District Judge

Jessica Richard Crawford (R)

13th Court of Appeals, Place 4

Jaime Tijerina (R)

Migdalia Lopez (D)

13th Court of Appeals, Place 6

Nereida Lopez-Singleterry (D)

State Representative District 17

John Cyrier (R)

Madeline Eden (D)

State Senate District 18

Lois Kolkhorst (R)

U.S. Representative District 27

Michael Cloud (R)

U.S. Representative District 34

Filemon Vela (D)