School, city election filing period begins


The election filing period has begun for those wishing to serve on city councils and school boards in Gonzales County and to run in the Saturday, May 6, election.

State law allows for a 30-day window of opportunity for interested parties to submit an application to run for council or school board. This year, that period of time began Wednesday, Jan. 18, and will continue to 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17.

In order to run for office, according to Texas Election Code Section 141.01, an individual must be a citizen of the United States; 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at election; have not been determined mentally incompetent by a final judgment of a court; have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the disabilities; have resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory as applicable for six months immediately preceding the deadline for filing an application for a place on the ballot. Candidates also must satisfy any other eligibility requirements prescribed by law for a particular office.

Gonzales city

Seats available on the Gonzales City Council include District 3 (Ronda Miller) and District 4 (Bobby O’Neal).

Nixon city

Seats available on the Nixon City Council include ones held at-large by Justin LaFleur, Mary Ann Fatheree and Rene Amaya.

Smiley city

Seats available on the Smiley City Council include ones held at-large by Linda Warzecha, Diane P. Moreno and Elisa Douglas.

Waelder city

Seats available on the Waelder City Council include ones held at-large by Michael Harris, Valentino Hernandez and Curtis Hadnot Jr.

Gonzales ISD

Seats available include District 3 (Glenn Menking), District 6 (Sue Gottwald) and District 5 (Ross Hendershot III).

Nixon-Smiley CISD

Seats available include Place 4 (Chris Villasana) and Place 6 (Aly Tschoepe).

Waelder ISD

At-large seats available include those currently held by Dora Noyola and Diana Olmos.

The last day to register to vote in the May 6 election is Thursday, April 6. Early voting begins Monday, April 24 and continues through Tuesday, May 2.