Davis challenged by Kacir for county judge seat


In 2018, Gonzales County Judge Patrick C. Davis ran unopposed and was elected to his first term as the county’s top official.

This time around, Davis will have an opponent in the March 1, 2022 Republican primary: Gonzales Mayor Connie Kacir, who filed for the position Monday, Dec. 13 — the last day of filing for county elected office.

There will be a total of six contested races on the 2022 GOP primary ballot — the most since 2016, when there were five contested races.

That includes sheriff, which is currently held by former Gonzales Fire Chief Keith Schmidt, who was appointed in September to succeed the late Sheriff Robert Ynclan, who died less than nine months after he began his first term.

Schmidt has filed for election to serve the remainder of the unexpired term and has drawn a primary challenger in William Miller, sergeant in CID at Caldwell County Sheriff's Office who lives in Waelder.

Another race that will be contested is for county treasurer. Incumbent Sheryl Barborak will be challenged by Don Page, who has stepped down from his role as Gonzales County Republican Party chair to run for the position. Page’s position as chair will now be filled by Liz Hernandez.

As previously reported by the Gonzales Inquirer, both of the spots for county commissioner on the ballot will have a primary contest. In Precinct 2, incumbent Commissioner Donnie Brozozowski has filed for re-election and his opposition will come from his nephew, Shane Brzozowski. In Precinct 4, incumbent Collie Boatright Jr. will have a challenge from Gabriel Peña.

The other office on the ballot which has drawn a race is for Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace, where incumbent Deidra D. Voigt will face off against Jacey Layne Trammell.

Other filings at this time which did not draw an opponent include the following:

• District Clerk: Janice Sutton (incumbent).

• County Clerk: Lona Ackman (incumbent).

• Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace: Jesse Almaraz (incumbent).

• Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace: Darryl Becker (incumbent).

• County Surveyor: Seth M. Fullilove (incumbent).

Gonzales County Democratic Party Chair Yolanda Messman said there has been just one person who filed for the Democratic primary — Clay Allen, who has run for sheriff before, will run again as he seeks the chance to serve out Ynclan’s remaining unexpired term. Allen will have no opponent in the primary and will face the winner of the Schmidt-Miller race in the November general election.

There has also been one independent candidate — Travis Hansen — who has filed a declaration of intent to run for the Precinct 4 Commissioner seat. He does not have to file official candidacy papers until 5 p.m. June 23, 2022 and if he does officially file, he would be on the general election ballot in November against the winner of Boatright-Peña.

The primary election day is Tuesday, March 1, 2022. Primary early voting will be held Feb. 14-25, 2022. The general election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022.