Early voting begins Monday in 2024 Republican Primary Runoff


Gonzales County voters will be asked to decide the race for Precinct 1 Commissioner and the Republican candidate for Texas House Representative District 44 when early voting opens Monday, May 20, for the May 28 GOP Primary Runoff Election.

Anton “Tony” Matias faces off against Ryan Mills in the Precinct 1 Commissioner race. They were the two top vote-getters in the March 5 GOP Primary, but neither crossed the 50.01 percent threshold — or receiving at least one more vote than half the total ballots cast.

The winner of the runoff will essentially be elected the incoming Precinct 1 commissioner as there is no Democrat candidate in the November general election and he will assume office on Jan. 1, 2025, succeeding incumbent Precinct 1 Commissioner K.O. “Dell” Whiddon, who did not seek re-election.

Matias has been the supervisor for six years under Whiddon’s Precinct 1 Road and Bridge crew, while Mills is a natural resource consultant.

The other race for District 44 Representative is between incumbent Rep. John Kuempel and challenger Alan Schoolcraft, who emerged from a four-candidate field. Neither candidate could surpass the 50.01 percent threshold. The winner of the runoff will face the sole Democrat candidate, Eric Norman, in the November general election.

Schoolcraft is a former state representative who is being supported by several top Republicans, including Gov. Greg Abbott and Attorney General Ken Paxton, both of whom had targeted Kuempel due to his votes against Abbott’s school voucher plan and for his vote to impeach Paxton last year.

Registered voters only can cast ballots in this election if they either voted in the 2024 Republican primary or did not vote at all in the 2024 primary.

Early voting will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday, May 20 through Friday, May 24, at the following locations:

• Randle Rather Building, 427 St. George St., Gonzales.

• City of Nixon Building, 302 E Central, Nixon.

• Waelder City Hall, 300 Hwy 90 W, Waelder.

Election day voting for Tuesday, May 28, will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the consolidated voting locations shown here.

The last day to apply for Ballot by Mail (received not postmarked) will be Friday, May 17.