Early voting ends this Friday in joint primaries

Polls will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day as well


Early voting for the March 5, 2024, joint Gonzales County Republican and Democratic primaries will end this Friday, March 1.

As of 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27, there had been 1,261 votes cast in person and by mail in early voting, or just under 10 percent of the 12,889 registered voters in Gonzales County. That number includes 1,136 Republicans voting in person and 35 voting by mail, while 80 people have voted in person and 10 by mail in the Democratic primary.

The main location for early voting is the Randle Rather Building, 427 St. George St., Gonzales, with satellite locations at City of Nixon Building, 302 E. Central, Nixon, and Waelder City Hall, 300 Hwy 90 W, Waelder.

On Thursday, Feb. 29 and Friday, March 1, early voting will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The last day to apply for a ballot by mail (received and not postmarked) is Friday, Feb. 23.

Election day voting will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 5, at a number of locations.

Republican primary

There are three candidates running for Precinct 1 commissioner in March: David Janota of Gonzales, a data collector; Anton "Tony" Matias of Gonzales, a road foreman for Precinct 1; and Ryan W. Mills of Gonzales, a natural resource consultant.

The two candidates running for Precinct 3 commissioner are Thomas "Tommy" Barnick of Harwood and Roy A. Staton of Gonzales. Both list their occupations as being in road and bridge.

Incumbent Precinct 1 County Constable Johnnie Hall faces a challenge from former Smiley City Marshall Scott Rhodes Sr., who ran against Hall in the 2020 GOP primary as well.

The race for U.S. Congress for House 27 has four candidates in the March GOP primary — incumbent Michael Cloud of Victoria and challengers Luis Espindola, a defense contractor; Scott Mandel of Corpus Christi, a corporate CEO; and Chris Mapp of Port Arthur, who is in marine manufacturing.

For state House 44, the incumbent Rep. John Kuempel has three GOP primary challengers in federal procurement employee David Freimarck of Cibolo, former state Rep. Alan Schoolcraft; and retired U.S. Marine Greg Switzer of Seguin.

Unopposed races locally include 25th District Judge (incumbent Bill Old); 2nd 25th District Judge (incumbent Jessica Richard Crawford); County Attorney (Eduardo “Eddie” Xavier Escobar); Sheriff (incumbent Keith A. Schmidt); Tax Assessor-Collector (incumbent Crystal Cedillo); Precinct 3 Constable (incumbent Derek Johnson); Precinct 4 Constable (incumbent John J. Moreno); and County Chair (incumbent Liz Hernandez).

There are also 13 propositions on the GOP ballot representing issues of importance to the state Republican Party.

Democratic primary

The U.S. House District 27 race has two candidates on the ballot: teacher Tanya Loyd and tax preparer Anthony (A.J.) Tristan.

Meanwhile, running unopposed are candidates for Sheriff (Clay Allen); State Board of Education District 3 (incumbent Marisa Perez-Diaz); Texas House District 44 (Eric Norman) and County Chair (Yolanda Messman).