Storey Jewelers was established in 1903 by E.A. Gomez and Chauncey Vaughn Bright as Gomez and Bright Jewelers and Music Store. It became Bright Jewelry House in 1905 and was operated by Chauncey Bright until his death in 1941.
By that time, his son-in-law, Beverly Glynn Storey was apprenticing under him, so Glynn and his wife, Marion "Feetie" Bright Storey, took over the business. It became B. G. Storey Jeweler in the 1950s and then Storey Jewelers Inc. in 1979. Glynn and Feetie were joined in the business in 1972 by their son Bill Storey. Bill quickly developed into an outstanding jeweler and watchmaker and took over the management responsibilities of the store as his parents began their transition into retirement.
In 1996 Bill sold the store to long time employee Paul Neuse and his wife Dianne. Paul has been successful in guiding the business through the changes brought by technology in the 21st century and with the help of a dedicated staff and the most wonderful customers in the world, Storey Jewelers continues to thrive.
Today the store is still operated as Storey Jewelers, Inc. and in November 2015, Storey Jewelers left its downtown location for a brand new store located in the Gonzales Marketplace Shopping Center. The facility is state-of-the-art, featuring a larger show room, a lounge area, greater visibility, a larger selection of fine jewelry, and almost unlimited parking, all to make shopping at Storey Jewelers a greater experience for long time and first-time customers.
Storey will have a 120th anniversary sale through Oct. 27.